RU 

About Journal


"Novoe Proshloe/The New Past" (NP) is an interdisciplinary peer-reviewed scientific journal that publishes articles in Russian and English on history, cultural anthropology, philology and related fields of social and humanitarian knowledge, without regional and chronological limitations.

The journal is a platform for critical discussion of theoretical and empirical problems, as well as for analysis of modern methodological and methodical approaches to understanding the phenomenon of the past.

On the pages of the journal are published materials - articles, reviews and overviews, and sources, where the past is viewed as a subject of constant processing within the framework of academic and non-academic practices. Of particular interest, there are factors and mechanisms of "the past construction", as well as the context of this process. “The New Past” focuses on the social, cultural, cognitive, political and technological processes that influence the way individual and group consciousness reflex the past. The analysis of professional and non-professional historical consciousness in this sense is of equal value.

Although the epistemological and empirical significance of historical consciousness has been repeatedly emphasized in humanitarian studies on individual and group identity, as well as cultural, political and social groups at different levels, there is still a significant gap in theoretical reflection on historical consciousness and historical memory. In this regard, more attention is paid to the methodological and theoretical issues of understanding the phenomenon of the past on the tranches of the journal.

We strive to be interesting to our readers, staying within the framework of academic discourse. Realizing the conventionality of disciplinary boundaries in Humanities, we use literary allusions in the subjects of issues as a way of raising the profile of academic problems. These literary allusions refer to timeless connection between history and literature as well as to permanent narrativisation of historical knowledge.

The Editorial Board accepts papers for publication in the following areas of research:
- Phenomenon of the past and identity;
- academic practices of representation of the past;
- mass historical representations in different epochs;
- symbols of the past and their role in the functioning of historical consciousness;
- historiographical schools and trends, and their characteristics;
- historical memory and historical oblivion, factors of their formation;
- politics of memory;
- collective trauma and its role in the reflection on the past;
- tools and mechanisms for managing the past;
- documents and archives, techniques of working with them;
- biographies and shaping of historical consciousness.

The journal publishes reviews and overviews devoted to various problems in Humanities. Copies of books for reviews are to be sent to the address:
Russian Federation, Rostov-on-Don, 344006
105/42 Bolshaya Sadovaya Street
The New Past Editorial Board
Institute of History and International Relations.

The frequency of the publication is four times a year in the form of thematic issues. The annual program for the next calendar year is published starting from the second issue of the current year.

Founder and publisher: Federal State Autonomous Educational Institution of Higher Education "Southern Federal University". Legal address of the publisher: 344006, Russia, Rostov region, Rostov-on-Don, Bolshaya Sadovaya street, 105/42, http://sfedu.ru.

The certificate of registration of mass media

The annual programme of the NP/NP for 2020
is looking as follows:

«Battles for History» (1/2020). The issue aims at considering scientifically the impact of commemorative images on current socio-political discourse. According to the famous saying of Zigmund Graff, “History is the policy that cannot be turned back. Politics is the history that can be turned back”. The main questions for discussion are as follows: What is the way historic symbols are presently used by authorities and the public? What are the ethno-political strategies of exploiting them? How anniversaries turn into commemorative dates? etc. The answers may highlight the potential of historic symbols for public and municipal authorities. They can also contribute to characterizing the mechanisms of historic symbols politization as well as raising the profile of expert community as a regional ethno-political monitoring agent.

«Custodian of Antiquities» (2/2020). The issue is devoted to the transformation of history-writing practices in various historical contexts. Just like most artifact collectors, contemporary historians often choose the historical sources at random without due consideration of the research methods applied. While balancing its status between ‘science’ and ‘art’, history-writing is influenced by contemporary technologies including digitalization and political discourses. The issue considers the role of a historian as a ‘Custodian of Antiquities’ and a keeper of memory about the collective past. It is also devoted to the status of history (viewed as memory and knowledge) in various cultural environments while emphasizing its up-to-date context. The range of issues raised in this volume are: dynamics of attitudes towards the past and factors triggering these changes; transformation of research instruments and methods of dealing with historical sources; factors and practices of instrumentalization of history as well as contexts and discourses which determine this process.

«Warrior at the Crossroads» (3/2020). In this issue, we intend to continue the discussion initiated earlier (1/2017 – “Lost Illusions”, 3/2019 – “Roads We Take”) about the “bifurcation points”, “historical road forks” and the problem of choosing alternative paths of development. The focus is now shifted to the “Russian Middle Ages” – the epoch of Russian national history separated from subsequent eras by a grandiose cataclysm of the Troubles Times. That is why the title of A.A. Zimin’s book on the Muscovite Civil War in the second quarter of the 15th century has been taken as a key metaphor for the theme of this issue able to illustrate such turning points. Being far from sharing the author’s concept, we nevertheless see a certain accord between the narrative strategies of our journal and A.A. Zimin’s cycle of works, which were both classical academic monographs in terms of essence and literary works of nonfiction genre in terms of form. At the same time, the fate of one of the most controversial books by A.A. Zimin, which stimulated debates over historical alternatives without being accepted by the academic community, allows for historiographical perspective of the discussion. It might be worth reflecting on the fact that “bifurcation points” can be characteristic of our understanding of history as well as history itself.

«They Fought for Their Country» (4/2020). The issue continues the discussion of previously raised questions of war (3/2016 - “The War and The Peace”) in the context of the formation of memory of the past (1/2016 – “What to Recall”). The main specificity of the issue does not arise from the research of the events of military history per se, but from the research of its reflections in various forms of historical memory, public consciousness, everyday life, culture and language, as well as problems of its institutionalization and verification. We also invite you to discuss the anthropological features, demographic and psychological consequences of various wars and armed conflicts, the problems of people and societies coming out of war. Special attention is paid to the memory of the Great Patriotic / World War II, which is largely because of the influence that the war had on the entire subsequent development of the Soviet society and the world as a whole. Images of war in the post-Soviet space transform and take on new features because more and more war witnesses pass away. The title of the issue uses the name of the Mikhail Sholokhov’s novel, as he was one of the first to raise questions about the formation of the Soviet Soldier’s psychology and the difficulties soldiers had to endure along the way. The solution of these problems inevitably implies interdisciplinary approach and allows us to invite not only historians, but also demographers, political scientists, sociologists, ethnographers, anthropologists, linguists, folklorists and representatives of other disciplines to offer their views on the war and its reflections in memory.

Each of special topics will cover no less 25% of the volume. Editorial Board hope on these topics as perspective for the journal progress. The journal enlargement is thought as mutual development together with our authors.

The main journal topics are Theme of the Issue, Theory and Methodology, Articles and Reports, Discussions, Sources, Reviews, Academic Life.

Editor-in-Chief <br> Victor Apryshchenko
Editor-in-Chief
Victor Apryshchenko

Dr, PhD, Director of the Institute of History and International Relations, Southern Federal University

Research Interests: European national identities in historical and contemporary context, European regionalism, migration processes, security challenges and management of national processes

Deputy Editor-in-Chief <br> Anton Ivanesko
Deputy Editor-in-Chief
Anton Ivanesko

Associate Professor, Institute of History and International Relations, Southern Federal University

Research Interests: The Nart sagas as a historical source, ideology of the Indo-Iranian peoples of Antiquity and the early Middle Ages, historical memory and nationalism in the Caucasus

Deputy Editor-in-Chief <br> Amiran Urushadze
Deputy Editor-in-Chief
Amiran Urushadze

Associate Professor, Institute of History and International Relations, Southern Federal University

Research Interests: Administrative practices of the Russian Empire in the Caucasus, historical comparative studies

Editor of “Sources” Topical Section <br> Dmitriy Sen’
Editor of “Sources” Topical Section
Dmitriy Sen’

Dr, PhD, Professor, Institute of History and International Relations, Southern Federal University

Research Interests: History of the Cossacks and Old Believers in the Don region and the North Caucasus, history of Russian-Crimean-Turkish relations

Executive Secretary <br> Natalia Dmitrieva
Executive Secretary
Natalia Dmitrieva

Senior Lecturer, Institute of History and International Relations, Southern Federal University

Research Interests: History of liberalism in Russia, history of imperial governance in Russia, social history of Russia in the 19th–early 20th centuries, information technologies in historical education

О журнале


«Новое прошлое / The New Past» (НП/NP) — междисциплинарный рецензируемый научный журнал, публикующий материалы на русском и английском языках по истории, культурной антропологии, филологии и смежным областям социально-гуманитарного знания, без региональных и хронологических ограничений.

Журнал является площадкой для критического обсуждения теоретических и эмпирических проблем, а также для анализа современных методологических и методических подходов к пониманию феномена прошлого.

На страницах журнала публикуются материалы - статьи, рецензии и обзоры, источники, - в которых прошлое рассматривается как предмет постоянной обработки в рамках академических и не академических практик. При этом особый интерес представляют факторы и механизмы «конструирования» прошлого, а также контексты этого процесса. «Новое прошлое / The New Past» уделяет особое внимание социальным, культурным, когнитивным, политическим и технологическим процессам, оказывающим влияние на то, как прошлое отражается в индивидуальном и групповом сознании. Анализ профессионального и непрофессионального исторического сознания в этом смысле представляют равную ценность.

Хотя эпистемологичекое и эмпирическое значение исторического сознания не раз уже подчеркивалось в гуманитарных исследованиях, посвященных индивидуальной и групповой идентичности, а также культурным, политическим и социальным группам разного уровня, все еще существует значительный недостаток теоретической рефлексии на историческое сознание и историческую память. В этой связи больше внимание на страницах журнала уделяется методологическим и теоретическим вопросам осмысления феномена прошлого.

Мы стремимся быть интересными нашему читателю, оставаясь в рамках академического дискурса. Осознавая условность дисциплинарных границ гуманитарного знания, мы используем литературные аллюзии в тематике номеров в качестве способа актуализации научных проблем. Эти литературные аллюзии свидетельствуют о непреходящей связи истории и литературы, а также о постоянной нарративизации исторического знания.

Редколлегия журнала принимает материалы для публикации по следующим направлениям исследований:
- феномен прошлого и идентичность;
- академические практики репрезентации прошлого;
- массовые исторические представления в разные эпохи;
- символы прошлого и их роль в функционировании исторического сознания;
- историографические школы и направления и их особенности;
- историческая память и историческое забвение, факторы их формирования;
- политика памяти;
- коллективные травмы и их роль в осмыслении прошлого;
- инструменты и механизмы управления прошлым;
- документы и архивы, техники работы с ними;
- биографии и формирование исторического сознания.

Журнал публикует обзоры и рецензии на современные издания, посвященные различным проблемам гуманитарного знания. Экземпляры книг для рецензий должны направляться по адресу:
РФ, г. Ростов-на-Дону, 344006
Ул. Большая Садовая 105/42
Редколлегия журнала «Новое прошлое / The New Past»
Институт истории и международных отношений.

Периодичность издания — 4 раза в год в виде отдельных тематических номеров. Годовая программа на следующий календарный год публикуется начиная со второго номера текущего года.

Учредитель и издатель: Федеральное государственное автономное образовательное учреждение высшего образования «Южный федеральный университет». Юридический адрес издателя: 344006, Россия, Ростовская обл., г. Ростов-на-Дону, ул. Большая Садовая, д. 105/42, http://sfedu.ru.

Свидетельство о регистрации средств массовой информации

Годовая программа журнала «НП/NP» на 2020 г.
выглядит следующим образом:

«Бои за историю» (1/2020). Номер посвящен проблемам научного осмысления особенностей влияния коммеморативных образов на динамику современного общественно-политического дискурса. Согласно известному афоризму Зигмунда Граффа, «история – это политика, которую уже нельзя исправить. Политика – это история, которую еще можно исправить». Основные вопросы, предлагаемые к обсуждению: Как власть и общество используют исторические символы в настоящее время?, В каких этнополитических стратегиях они эксплуатируются?, Как юбилейные события становятся памятными датами? и т.п. Ответы на них позволят определить потенциал использования исторических символов в деятельности органов власти и муниципалитетов, охарактеризовать механизмы политизации исторических символов, усилить значение экспертного сообщества для мониторинга этнополитической ситуации в регионе.

«Хранитель древностей» (2/2020). Номер посвящен трансформации практик историописания в разные эпохи. Как и собиратели древностей прошлых эпох, современный историк зачастую случайным образом подбирает исторические свидетельства, не задумываясь над профессиональным инструментарием, а руководствуясь собственным представлением о прошлом. Балансируя между статусом науки, с одной стороны, и искусства – с другой, современное историописание не только подвергается воздействию со стороны современных технологических процессов вроде дигитализации, но и находится под влиянием политических процессов. Предлагаемый номер журнала будет посвящен проблеме существования историка, «хранителя прошлого», и памяти о коллектив- ном былом, а также статуса истории (как памяти и как знания о прошлом) в разных культурных контекстах, но с акцентом на современности. Среди основных вопросов, которые мы хотели бы обсудить на страницах номера, такие как динамика отношения к прошлому и факторы, определяющие эти изменения; трансформация исследовательского инструментария и методов работы с историческими источниками; факторы и практики инструментализация истории, а также контексты и дискурсы, обусловливающие этот процесс.  

«Витязь на распутье» (3/2020). В этом номере мы предполагаем продолжить начатый ранее (1/2017 – «Утраченные иллюзии», 3/2019 – «Дороги, которые мы выбираем») разговор о «точках бифуркации», «исторических развилках» и проблеме выбора альтернативных путей развития. На сей раз наши размышления будут обращены к «русскому средневековью» – той части отечественной истории, которую отделяет от последующих эпох грандиозный катаклизм Смуты. Именно поэтому в качестве ключевой метафоры тематики номера нами взято заглавие книги А.А. Зимина, по- священной одному из таких поворотных моментов – Московской усобице второй четверти XV в. Отнюдь не разделяя концепцию автора, изложенную в данном труде, мы видим определенное созвучие нарративных стратегий нашего журнала и цикла трудов А.А. Зимина, каковые, будучи по содержанию классическими научными монографиями, по форме тяготеют к литературному жанру non-fiction. В то же время судьба одной из самых спорных книг А.А. Зимина, не принятой академическим сообществом, но стимулировавшей полемику об исторических альтернативах, позволяет перевести обсуждение этих проблем в историографическую плоскость – поразмышлять о том, что «точки бифуркации» могут быть не только в истории, но и в развитии нашего знания о прошлом.

«Они сражались за Родину» (4/2020). Тематический номер продолжает обсуждение поднятых ранее вопросов войны (3/2016 – «Война и мир») в контексте формирования памяти о прошлом (1/2016 – «Чтобы помнили»). Специфика данного номера заключается в обращении не столько к самим событиям военной истории, сколько к их отражению в различных формах исторической памяти, общественном сознании, повседневности, культуре и языке, а также к проблемам ее институционализации и верификации. Мы приглашаем также к разговору об антропологических особенностях, демографических и психологических последствиях различных войн и вооруженных конфликтов, проблемах выхода из войны человека и общества. Особое внимание будет уделено памяти о Великой Отечественной / Второй мировой войнах, что в значительной степени объясняется тем влиянием, которое они оказала на все последующее развитие советского общества и мира в целом. Новый характер приобретают образы войн на постсоветском пространстве с постепенным уходом из жизни их свидетелей и очевидцев. Именно поэтому в названии номера использовано название романа Михаила Шолохова, который одним из первых поставил вопросы о формировании психологии советского солдата и тех трудностях, которые ему пришлось пережить на этом пути. Решение указанных задач неизбежно придает номеру междисциплинарный характер и позволяет пригласить к участию в его подготовке не только историков, но и демографов, политологов, социологов, этнографов, антропологов, лингвистов, фольклористов и представителей других дисциплин, предлагающих свой взгляд на войну и ее отражение в памяти.  

Каждой из заявленных тем предполагается отводить не менее 25% объема соответствующего номера. На эту рубрику Редакционная коллегия возлагает особые надежды в развитии концепции журнала, которая мыслится нами в тесной взаимосвязи с нашими авторами.

Постоянные рубрики журнала: «Тема номера», «Теория и методология», «Статьи и сообщения», «Дискуссия», «Источники», «Обзоры и рецензии», «Научная жизнь».